enigma

 

 

depression is my enigma

 

are we just sad? or stuck in a rut?

what’s the difference between a long period of sadness

and depression?

is there one?

 

i don’t know

i don’t know

i don’t know

 

is my need for human interaction just me

or a symptom?

is my lack of energy and motivation just a teenage spell

or an effect?

 

i don’t know

i don’t know

i don’t know

 

would a therapist really help–

would listing out my aches and fears rid me of them

or bring them more to the surface?

would a psychiatrist really help–

would taking that medicine rid me of this disease

or would it bring suicidal thoughts?

 

i don’t know

i don’t know

i don’t know

 

would my friends believe me if i told them?

the girl who never stops smiling suddenly has depression

would my parents believe me if i told them?

or would they think that i’m just being overdramatic?

depression is my enigma

am i being overdramatic?

could this all be happening because i’m too selfish

and don’t focus on other people’s needs and wants?

if i were to devote my life to someone else

would my depression cease to exist?

(that’s what mom says)

 

i don’t know

i don’t know

i don’t know

 

 

 

 

Share your Thoughts

